Best Handgun for Beginners and Home Defense

Avery Jackson
6 min readJun 14, 2021

--

Not sure what type of handgun to get for your first pistol or for home defense?

I will cover all the important decision points such as caliber, fit, safety, sights, firing action, ammo, and quality; then we will end with some personal suggestions.

Caliber…is bigger better?

Smaller size means that the bullet will create a mild recoil along with higher capacity magazines. The majority of the police force uses 9mm and that is what I recommend in a handgun caliber. The reason is because it is a cheaper round compared to .45ACP. It is also easier to control when shooting and packs enough punch to be a fantastic all-around handgun caliber.

Fit/Feel

The most important thing about choosing a handgun is choosing the one that has the best fit for you. Some people like larger guns and some like to have smaller, more able to conceal, guns. It is all about how it feels in your hand as far as size and weight, as well as what your intention with the gun is going to be, i.e., concealing etc.

I recommend getting a full size handgun, which is 5 inches in barrel length. Having a full size handgun makes it easier to shoot and there is more mass to absorb recoil.

Now, if you are aiming to conceal your pistol, you should try out the compact sizes too. I love the Sig Sauer P365 or the Kimber Micro 9. As long as it is not so small that your pinky hangs off, any compact weapon will be fine. Keep in mind you can always get extended magazines for the compact guns that will make fit even better and hold more ammo at the same time.

All triggers have a slightly different feel too.

Safety

There are two trains of thought here and I will tell you both of them. Having a safety on the gun is a great security feature especially if you have your weapon laying around the house or even just while you walk around with it in you pocket. For that reason, a safety feature is wonderful to have.

The other side of this is not having a safety feature. Some might say it is better not to because in a self-defense situation and the heat of the moment, you might forget to disengage the safety.

It comes down to your personal preference and what is good for your peace of mind. The compact guns I recommended earlier include one of each. The Micro 9 does have a safety and the P365 does not.

Sights

Purchasing after market sights are generally what I do after I buy a new gun. I like to always have the more significant self-defense sights, which would be night sights. These work great in the day light as well as dimly lit locations and even pitch darkness. I also like to have lights attached to my full-sized handguns such as on my Glock 19. I recommend this night sight for most full size guns by TruGlo.

Action

I recommend striker fired handguns like the Glock. These are the kind that you do not have to pull the hammer back to shoot, such as on the Baretta M9 or other double action pistols. The double action pistols have a heavy first shot since you are cocking the hammer back.

Revolvers are nice for their reliability and ease of dealing with malfunctions, but not so good because of their low ammo capacity (5 or 6 compared to 15).

Ammo: Hollow Points or Full Metal Jacket?

For home defense purposes, I recommend hollow point bullets for their stopping power. What I do is buy just enough hollow points to have enough to fill all of my magazines and have a little excess just in case. I never shoot this ammo and preserve for real self-defense situations.

Any time I shoot, I use full metal jackets or something similar with round tips. I keep these stocked and try and keep 500–1000 rounds at any given time.

Quality

Anytime I look at purchasing a new gun, I always do my research. How is the brand, do they have good reviews, are they reliable, etc. Looking at quality in store is difficult without shooting, but noting things like the sights, how scratch resistant the material might be, what kind of hand grip the gun has, along with other preferences like how many magazines come with it etc.

The main thing is to do your research and compare guns until you find the one you love.

Best Handguns for Self-Defense

1. Glock 19

Everyone has heard of a Glock. It is an amazingly reliable gun. If I had a choice of gun in any situation, I am going with Glock. It is the easiest to take apart to clean, it is quality, and it has a reputation! Glocks are great for the range, your night stand, and to conceal.

2. Sig Sauer P365

This is my favorite compact pistol to carry. Holds 10 rounds in the regular magazine (you can purchase extended 12 or 15 round mags). This is also an extremely reliable gun that I have never had jam on me or anything like that.

3. Colt 45 or other

Going with a 1911 style .45 ACP handgun adds a little punch to the defense side of things. I love my Colt 45 but there are lots of good 1911's.

4. Kimber Micro 9

Perfect for conceal carry and has a safety. Kimber has a good brand and reliable gun. Top of the line and very accurate to shoot.

5. Smith and Wesson M&P9 2.0

The newest version of the M&P is on this list of handguns. It is a full size and is comparable to the Glock 17. The new version has taken care of the trigger and also adds a lot of aggressive texturing while still maintaining the ability to swap out palm swells to match your grip. This model has a safety and fits well in hand.

Accessories and Attachments

Most encounters happen in dimly lit areas and you wouldn’t want to shoot without verifying your target. So, I recommend a light that attaches to the rail of your gun. The Glock is perfect for this. The one I personally use on mine is an Olight. It has survived many rounds and holds a charge very well. I usually charge it once every few weeks. It has also survived heavy drops and days shooting in the rain.

Olight

What I love about it is the ease of turning on and off as well as the fact that it has three settings. One wit a green laser, another with green laser and light, and the third with just the light. All super easy to turn on and off and switch between settings.

You also need a good holster and extra magazines for your new pistol. Check out the black hawk simple holster that fits most hand guns. It is easily concealed and soft on your gun.

Conclusion

For a beginner house defense weapon, I recommend going with a 9mm with hollow points. Full size frame like you see in the Glock 19 with a rail mounted light. Of course, there are tons of options out there, so do your research and find what works best for you!

--

--

Avery Jackson

“You wouldn’t have the dream in your heart if you didn’t already have what it takes to bring it to life.” -Marie Farleo